top of page

How to Fall in Love with Where You Are


I typically take walks around Philadelphia during my lunch breaks and if the weather is nice. I recently started a new job in the Old City area which is near Penn's Landing, aka the waterfront. I've never really explored this area before working here. My previous job was right in the center of town and it was always buzzing with activity. Here, it's quiet. When I take a walk, I can really relax. The busiest it gets is when there are tourists around as Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are right down the street. But they're easy to avoid.

When I lived in London, I loved it. I didn't want to leave. It took me a while to come to terms with living in Philadelphia again. I used to take long walks around London and it's so easy to fall in love with a city that way so I thought I'd continue my walks in Philly.

Some of my favorite spots:

Old City Coffee

Menagerie Coffee

Franklin Fountain

Square One Cafe

Christ Church

Washington Square Park

The thing about Philly, is that it has a lot of hidden gems and is steeped in history, much like London, but on a smaller scale. Once you find those, you're charmed forever. It's important to love where you live, otherwise you're uncomfortable and unhappy. Being happy is a choice and I choose to be happy. So many things in my life are changing and it's important to keep your chin up.

"I'd like to see Paris before I die ... Philadelphia will do." (W.C. Fields)

bottom of page