top of page

Weekend Wanderer #1

I got to spend a lot of time with family this weekend which was really nice. Everyone is always running around with different activities so it was nice to finally just get out and hang out. My Saturday began with a doctor's appointment and then my mom and I sat down to brunch at Cake in Chestnut Hill. It's one of my favorite places for breakfast because it's always wonderful quality. Plus, it helps that the restaurant is situated in a greenhouse, so it's very pretty.

After that we picked up my sisters and headed downtown to do some shopping. All three of them take ballet and it was finally time to get pointe shoes! Sadly I'm not in that world, but it gave me an opportunity to wander around Center City West, which I don't often get to do.

Church in Center City West

I have been over there to see movies at the PFS Roxy theater, and every time I go over that way I always find little gems. This time, while the girlies were at Rosin Box getting fitted for shoes, I went next door to Yellow Juice Bar to get some refreshment. It was well worth it. If you are down there and need something healthy and it's hot out (like it will be this week in Philly!) I definitely recommend getting a fresh juice or smoothie from there and sitting in their back garden and enjoy the breeze.

Grate in Center City West

Next stop was South Street to visit my aunt and then go to the Philly Aids Thrift shop. It's always fun to go thrifting there, and as with any thrift shop, you never know what you're going to find. I was looking for frames in particular to use on my postcard collection ... planning to do a gallery wall in my room and at work, but more on that later ... but sadly I didn't find anything. However, I did find some interesting graffiti art. I've always loved street art ... It reminds me that a city is alive.

Even though we didn't find anything, it was just nice to get out and explore the city with my family.

bottom of page